Theft Crime Attorney in Colorado Springs
Whether you are facing charges for minor shoplifting or a complex
white-collar crime, the larger the amount of money involved, the more serious your case will
be. If your offense has occurred in Colorado, a Colorado Springs criminal
defense lawyer can present you with the best options for your case.
Definition of Theft
While “theft” means you have taken something without the intention
of returning it, you can also face theft charges if you refuse to return
it until you are given something to which you are not legally entitled.
As with any other crime, the evidence surrounding your case will be the
main determinant in what type of sentence the judge will ultimately decide
upon. The more sneaky or conniving the theft, the more harshly it will
be punished. If the prosecution uncovers a complicated, planned-out scheme,
this usually spells trouble for the defendant at sentencing. Judges will
rarely be lenient with a defendant who has stolen from his or her employer
or worse yet, an at-risk adult or child.
Penalties for Theft
The penalty you would face if convicted of theft depends on the value of
stolen goods. According to Colorado Revised Statutes §18-4-401 (2012)
"Theft," there are four degrees of theft:
- If the value of stolen goods is less than $500, it is a Class 2 misdemeanor,
punishable by between three and twelve months in jail.
- If the value of stolen goods is more than $500 but less than $1,000, it
is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by between six and eighteen months in jail.
- If the value of stolen goods is $1,000 or more but less than $20,000, it
is a Class 4 felony, punishable by between two and six years in prison.
- If the value of stolen goods is $20,000 or more, it is a Class 3 felony,
punishable by between four and twelve years in prison.
Other factors may influence the charges you face. For example, if you are
accused of breaking into an occupied structure, you can be charged with
burglary, or you can be charged with robbery if you are accused of using
force, threats or intimidation to commit the theft.
Any theft from the body of another person is considered a Class 5 Felony,
regardless of how small the value of the item stolen. Pickpockets face
felony charges even if the item they stole is worth less than a dollar.
However, in Colorado, it is considered Robbery when a theft takes place
using any sort of threat or force against a victim.
Multiple accusations of stealing small amounts can also be combined, which
can result in felony charges if the amounts add up to over $1,000. A defendant
could also face charges of “Theft by Receiving” if they have
received, transported, sold or stored something that is known to be stolen.
Defending You Against Theft Charges
Whether you have been charged with shoplifting or armed robbery, we encourage
you to contact us at Clawson & Clawson, LLP for help in defending
your rights and your future. We have more than 100 years of combined experience,
and we know the most effective strategies for helping our clients find
their way out of the criminal justice system. Don't think that you can
resolve the situation by speaking with the investigators and telling your
side of the story. The police already believe that you
committed the crime, and will only use what you say as evidence against you.
You shouldn't take any chances by attempting to handle the case on your
own. Let us put our skill and dedication to results to work for you! Call
(719) 602-5888 today!