Unlike the case with many other crimes, most people who are arrested for
DUI do not have any prior history of criminal activity. People who are
charged with DUI include college students, businesspeople, housewives,
and commercial drivers. Perhaps they are driving home from a party, maybe
they had one too many drinks with dinner, or maybe they have a drinking
problem. They do not, however, set out to commit a crime.
If you have been arrested for drinking and driving, you can turn to the
Colorado Springs DUI defense attorneys at
Clawson & Clawson, LLP for help navigating the complex
criminal process ahead of you.
Hire a Former Prosecutor for Your DUI Case
Challenging DUI Evidence
One of the first questions we ask about a drunk driving case is, "Did
the police officer have probable cause to investigate?" You have
a constitutional right against unreasonable search and seizure, meaning
that you cannot be pulled over and investigated for a crime such as DUI
unless the officer has a warrant or can demonstrate that there is probable
cause to suspect that you have broken the law. If the answer to the question
is "No," our defense attorneys may be able to have the charges
dismissed based on the fact that the evidence was gathered in violation
of your rights.
This is not the only strategy for fighting the charges. The police officer
may have made mistakes in explaining or administering the roadside field
sobriety tests. Perhaps there was radio frequency interference with the
breathalyzer test, or maybe residual alcohol in your mouth caused a false
positive. Even the blood test could be invalidated by arguing that the
sample was contaminated or mistakenly switched with another person's blood.
There are many ways to challenge the evidence, but you must take action
now by calling a Colorado Springs DUI lawyer to maximize your chances
of building a successful
The sentence you could receive if convicted of driving under the influence
can include a nine-month driver's license suspension, a $500 fine, 48
hours of public service and up to 180 days in jail. In order to get your
license back, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device
in your vehicle, a machine which requires you to provide a clean breath
sample before starting the car and at random intervals while driving.
The DMV will report the fact of your conviction to your insurance company,
which will most likely move to raise your premiums. All told, the costs
for an average first time DUI have been estimated to range as high as
$10,000. You can expect even greater penalties for a repeat offense, and
if you are accused of committing vehicular manslaughter, the sentence
can range as high as six years in prison and $500,000 in fines. Don't
let this happen to you.