How Car Insurance Works in Colorado
After a car accident, you may be wondering what steps to take next. One
of the main things people worry about is how their car insurance will
work. Immediately following your auto collision, you should file a claim
with your insurance company. The sooner you file the claim, the more support
you will receive from your insurance provider.
If you wait to bring forward and injury or accident, regardless of the
situation, it may be more difficult to receive compensation. It is best
to try and report the accident within 24 hours of its occurrence. When
another party is involved, and potentially liable for your accident, you
can contact their insurance provider.
Colorado Auto Insurance Requirements
When you have a car insurance policy, you can select certain amounts of
protection for particular dangerous. Some insurance policies include minimum
and maximum amounts of money you can receive after a specific type of
accident. Your policy may even include a specific amount of coverage from
underinsured or uninsured motorists.
As of 2021, Colorado Law requires drivers to purchase and maintain the
following minimum amounts of car insurance coverage (per accident):
- $25,000 for bodily injuries sustained by any individual involved
- $15,000 for any property damage concerns
- $50,000 for bodily injuries sustained
You will need to determine what type of insurance the other party has if
you have sustained serious injuries. Handling insurance claims and other
drivers' insurance providers can be very difficult. In many cases, companies
try to give very low offers to injured victims, taking advantage of their
urgent situation. Whether you were injured in a head-on collision or fender
bender, seeking legal counsel may be necessary. Our lawyers at Clawson
& Clawson, LLP are prepared to take on your
car insurance claims and concerns today.
What happens during the insurance claim process?
Once you have filed a claim with your insurance provider, and possibly
alerted the at-fault driver's company, they will open an investigation
of your accident claim. The insurance company may require testimonials,
photographs of the accident, detailed descriptions and official medical
Once they have reviewed all the information and evidence, they will either
offer you a settlement check or deny your claim. In either case,
you may challenge the insurance company's offer through an appeal. If you don't believe their settlement offer is high enough, or if you
have been denied any compensation, you may need to take further action.
How can a Colorado Springs attorney help me?
If you have all the appropriate insurance coverage and filed your claim
in the right time frame, our car insurance attorneys may be able to fight
for your case. We will help you calculate the accurate value of your insurance
claim, including lost wages, medical expenses and emotional suffering. Our
Colorado Springs personal injury lawyers have the experience needed to
negotiate with tough insurance companies. We know how to handle low settlement offers and claim denials.
We will do everything we can to ensure our clients receive an amount that
is fair for their injuries and property damages. If you are not sure how
to handle your insurance claims process,
contact Clawson & Clawson, LLP today for caring legal support.